Paradigm Concepts
https://paradigmconcepts.com/forums/

HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?
https://paradigmconcepts.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1592
Page 1 of 1

Author:  wilcoxon [ Fri Jan 02, 2015 11:46 pm ]
Post subject:  HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

I have two questions about the sorcery rune:
  1. Is it stuck as Eldritch (since that's what it was in the module) or can the Arcanum type be chosen? The rune description seems like it should be stuck but I'd hope they'd allow it to be chosen since not all groups have an Eldritch caster. On the other hand, the cert copies the text from FiM that says it is chosen when created and does not say Eldritch.
  2. Can the "uncerted" wand be used or must the rune be transferred to a different wand (for 2Gc)? I'm unclear what the emphasis on "uncerted" means (that using it doesn't require a cert or that it can't be used).

Author:  val Holryn [ Sun Jan 04, 2015 1:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

My understanding is that the rune can be transfered. I know Sorcerer-Priests can use the rune/wand there was a debate on it in the age of the old boards... Don't know about elder or primal casters....don't have my books in front of me.

Author:  wilcoxon [ Sun Jan 04, 2015 10:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

val Holryn wrote:
My understanding is that the rune can be transfered. I know Sorcerer-Priests can use the rune/wand there was a debate on it in the age of the old boards... Don't know about elder or primal casters....don't have my books in front of me.


The cert is clear it can be transferred. It's much less clear (to me at least) if someone can just use the uncerted wand with the rune without transferring it.

Here's the added text on the cert about the wand (beyond copy-paste of the sorcery rune text):
Quote:
Originally found on uncerted Ymandrake Wand of good quality you may transfer this rune onto another item at the end of any adventure for 2 Gc.
When transferred, note the expenditure on the Chronicle Page and the item the Rune was transferred to below.

The emphasis on uncerted is primarily what is confusing me.

Author:  The Vault [ Sun Jan 04, 2015 11:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

Uncerted traditionally means that that item is not tradable. So you can't give, gift, or sell the wand to another person. But you could transfer the rune to another person as long as they have something to scribe the rune into.

You (the character who picked up the cert) may use the wand.

To answer your first question.
I as a GM would say it is stuck as an Sorcery Rune of Sorcery. Because the Ymandrake who had it was using it in his stat block and he used Eldritch. It doesn't make sense for them to have another type on magic inscribed on a wand on their person. Finally there is no mention of an exception on the cert, nothing on the cert says you can pick or change the rune type.
And yes because it is Sorcery Rune of Sorcery a Sorcerer-Priest of Sarish could use it as well. They use Arcanum (Sorcery) [Charisma].
If anyone complains (totally looking at Kelekene Elder casters) there are 2 modules for Elorii that grant even better caster items, (1 runestaff, and 1 Elder only Exotic Spell)

Author:  wilcoxon [ Sun Jan 04, 2015 12:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

Thanks for explaining what "uncerted" means in this context.

I honestly would have expected it to be stuck as Eldritch rune but the cert does not ever say anything about it being stuck. It simply copies the text from FiM which states "to the chosen Arcanum Action Skill roll" (but it does not ever state that it was already chosen as Eldritch/Sorcery). As such, I'm heavily leaning towards allowing the choice (but I'd like to know what the official campaign ruling is).

Author:  PCIHenry [ Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:33 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP1-06 sorcery rune relic page?

Hello,

wilcoxon wrote:
As such, I'm heavily leaning towards allowing the choice (but I'd like to know what the official campaign ruling is).


As the writer, it was my intention that it is an Eldritch magic item. The Arcanum cannot be switched around (at least not for official play. For Home Play, do as you wish, of course).

So you may consider this an official ruling.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/